About Østfold University College

Key figures


Østfold University College was founded on 1 August 1994.
On this date, five university colleges in Østfold county merged to create the new institution:

Study programmes at Østfold University College 


Campus Halden offers programmes at the:

Campus Fredrikstad at Kråkerøy offers programmes at the:

Board, management and shared services

Research and development

The Foreign Language Centre

The Norwegian National Centre for Foreign Languages in Education is located at Østfold University College's Campus Halden as a unit with 6.2 full-time equivalents. HiØ's broad and extensive linguistic community helped to lay the foundations for the establishment of the Foreign Language Centre, which was formed to strengthen language subjects in Norwegian education in general and in business and industry in particular.

Partners – including in the Oslo Fjord Alliance

Østfold University College has many partners, both national and international ones.

The Oslo Fjord Alliance is an education collaboration between:

The partners cooperate on technology studies and transfer schemes, among other things, and relevant information about this can be found at www.teknologi.no

Student welfare

provided by the student welfare organisation and the student parliament in Østfold.

The welfare of HiØ students is attended to in several ways – including through the considerable efforts of the student welfare organisation and the student parliament in Østfold. (See Student life and The student welfare organisation)

Among other things, the Student Welfare Organisation for Østfold runs the counselling service, student accommodation, bookshops and several canteens at HiØ.

The Student Parliament for Østfold attends to student democracy at HiØ with the help of many student representatives and other active participants from the different programmes and units at the university college.